Modest reward payments claimed by MPs for their staff


How many MP’s have claimed for modest reward payments to staff and can you name them


IPSA holds the information that you request.

The MPs’ Scheme of Business Costs and Expenses (the Scheme) allows MPs to make modest reward and recognition payments to MPs’ staff for the purpose of acknowledging excellent performance or effort for a particular piece or work.  By definition, payments must be modest and do not constitute a bonus payment.  The Scheme does not allow modest reward and recognition payments to be made to staff members who are ‘connected parties’.

From 1 April 2011 (when the rules for modest reward and recognition payments were introduced) to date, 21 MPs have made modest reward and recognition payments to staff members.  The names of those MPs are listed in Annex A.

For information, we publish the total amounts claimed by each MP in respect of modest reward and recognition payments in our annualised data.  The annualised data can be found via this link to our publication website.  The annualised data for 2010/11 is already available on our website and the annualised data for 2011/12 will be published on our website on 6 September 2012.

Annex A – MP Name

  • Nick Raynsford

  • Gerry Sutcliffe

  • Benedict Gummer

  • Christopher Leslie    

  • Roger Godsiff 

  • Edward Leigh 

  • Diane Abbott 

  • Ian Christopher Austin 

  • Nicholas Dakin 

  • David Tredinnick 

  • Alison Seabeck  

  • Bob Blackman

  • Caroline Dinenage

  • David Mundell

  • Geraint Davies

  • Glenda Jackson

  • Graham Brady

  • John Baron

  • John Glen

  • John Hayes

  • Michael Dugher

2 August 2012
Exemptions Applied: